NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 1

I recently heard that November was the National Book Writing month and that a community of writers, authors, artist,  musicians and poets come together for something called NaNoWriMo; a month long challenge to write a novel in 30 days (or 50,000 words, our just the draft, or a song, or a comic, our anything else… the rules seen rather flexible).

I reacted rather dimly… not my cuppa tea… but a cool idea nonetheless. I didn’t really think much of it, until I clicked through an “archive” of works I have from the past 5 years. Most of it is utter drivel, sober ramblings, or something less altogether, but I wondered…  what could I do it I put the pedal to the metal,  and have a none stop grind, caffeine addicted, and 60 miles per hour driven attempt with no regrets.

So I am giving NaNoWriMo a go. Whether I write a novel, a draft or a mess of words that clogs like chunky vomit, at least I can try again next year.

Say hello to an optimistic Sertysh! So far, I have my novel sketched out, and a pretty good first chapter to go with. The story will surely have it’s holes, but it will be good holes… like a root canal on a rollercoaster. Just remember to keep your arms inside the carriage.

You can see my profile here: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/roughton

More updates to come through the month. Meanwhile, here is a picture that sums up what to expect over the next 30 days…

Leave a Reply

